Nepal

nepal-flagNepal can be found on the map in southern Asia between the 26th and 30th degree latitude and the 80th and 88th degree longitude and has a surface area of 147.181 square kilometeters, from which approximately 143.000 square kilometers is land area and the rest (around 4000 square kilometers) are lakes and waterways. Nepal lies between Tibet in the north and India in the south.

To the north and in the east lie the largest part of the Himalaya mountain range where Mount Everest is to be found, the highest point on Earth, with it´s peak of 8848 meters, and which sits together with 7 more of the highest peaks on this planet. Nepal is, after Tibet, the highest lying country of the world where over 40% of the land is located at an elevation of over 3000 meters.

Nepal is ethnically and culturally a mosaic of minorities. In a census carried out in 2001 over 100 different different ethnic groups and casts were revealed to which over 124 different languages and dialects could be attributed. The majority of the Nepalese population live, up until today, on the land and many are from farming communities. The percentage of the total population living in towns and cities is only 15% and now, as before, is one of the smallest worldwide. With the exception of Kathmandu, the rest of the population centers lack resources, and therefore local government is difficult to implement.

In Nepal, there exists a big difference in prosperity between those people living on the land and those living in the towns and cities. More than half of the 26,5 million Nepalese cannot read or write. 70% of the population are dominated by the Brahmic controlled cast system and are not recognised as having equal rights. From the 26,5 million Nepalese nearly 40% live below the poverty level, the average monthly income of around 18 € (Euros).

The widespread corruption within the police force and in local government does not improve the trust of the people in the current administration and therefore they do not expect help from that quarter. Legal remedies, such as the Civil Rights Act from 1963, which forbids all forms of discrimination, in particular cast discrimination (punishable as a criminal offence), is not implemented very consequently in everyday life.

The discrimination and exploitation of minorities, lower casts and those without cast, women and children is still, despite the protection of the Constitution, widespread, and is one reason for the warlike situation in many parts of the country. International protest, amongst others by Amnesty International, has recently resulted in a more violent approach by the Nepalese police towards homosexuals and transvestites. Alone in Nepal, over 20.000 girls between the ages of 8 and 18 are sold annually. They wind up in the sex trade, the majority of them in Indian brothels.

As a result of the topographical structure of the countryside Nepal only has a limited road system of around 10.000 kilometers of prepared tared roads and around 7.100 kilometers of unprepared roads. The most important East-West connection is also part of the Asian Highway 2; the only road connection to China is the Araniko Highway which goes from Kathmandu to the Chinese-Nepalese Friendship Bridge. The most important method of transport is on foot. Therefore a huge network of pathways crisscrosses the country. Rivers and ravines are crossed by hanging bridges. The transport of goods is carried out mainly by porters, who carry their wares along narrow and often high mountain passes.

Source: Compilation from the entry in Wikipedia

Comments are closed

Nepal

nepal-flagNepal befindet sich in Südasien und erstreckt sich vom 26. bis 30. nördlichen Breiten- und vom 80. bis 88. östlichen Längengrad und umfasst eine Fläche von 147.181 Quadratkilometer, wovon etwa 143.000 Quadratkilometer Landfläche sind, die restlichen 4.000 Quadratkilometer Binnengewässer. Nepal liegt zwischen Tibet im Norden und Indien im Süden.

Im Norden und im Osten liegt ein großer Teil des Himalaya-Gebirges, unter anderem der Mount Everest, dessen Gipfel mit 8848 Metern den höchsten Punkt der Erde darstellt, und sieben weitere der zehn höchsten Berge der Erde. Nepal ist nach Tibet das durchschnittlich höchstgelegene Land der Welt, über 40 % des Landes liegen über 3000 Meter.

Nepal ist ethnisch und kulturell ein Minoritätenmosaik. Bei einer Volkszählung im Jahre 2001 wurden über 100 verschiedene ethnische Gruppen und Kasten sowie 124 verschiedene Sprachen und Dialekte gezählt.

Die Bevölkerung Nepals ist bis heute zum größten Teil ländlich und bäuerlich geprägt; der Anteil der Stadtbewohner ist mit 15 % der Gesamtbevölkerung nach wie vor einer der kleinsten weltweit. Bis auf Kathmandu fehlt es in allen Städten mehr oder weniger an Ressourcen, und die Selbstverwaltung kann daher nur schwer umgesetzt werden.

In Nepal herrscht eine große Wohlstandskluft zwischen der Stadt- und Landbevölkerung. Mehr als die Hälfte der 26,5 Millionen Nepalesen sind Analphabeten. 70 % der Bevölkerung werden von dem brahmanisch beherrschten Kastensystem nicht als gleichwertig anerkannt. Von den über 28 Millionen Nepalesen leben fast 40 % unterhalb der Armutsgrenze, das durchschnittliche Monatseinkommen beträgt 18 Euro.

Die weit verbreitete Korruption der Polizeibehörden und der Staatsverwaltung trägt dazu bei, dass die Bevölkerung kein Vertrauen in die bestehende Regierung setzt und keine Hilfe erwartet. Die juristischen Mittel, wie das Zivilrecht von 1963, das alle Formen von Diskriminierung − insbesondere der Kastendiskriminierung − unter Strafe stellt, greifen im Alltag nicht.

Die Diskriminierung und Ausbeutung von Minderheiten, unteren Kasten und Kastenlosen, Frauen und Kindern ist immer noch, trotz Schutz durch die Verfassung, weit verbreitet und mit ein Grund für die kriegsähnliche Situation im Land. Für internationale Proteste – unter anderem durch amnesty international – sorgte in letzter Zeit das gewaltsame Vorgehen der nepalesischen Polizei gegen Schwule und Transvestiten. Allein in Nepal werden jährlich etwa 20.000 Mädchen zwischen acht und 18 Jahren verkauft. Sie landen im Sexgewerbe, meistens in indischen Bordellen.[42]

Auf Grund der Landschaftsstruktur besitzt Nepal ein nur wenig ausgebautes Straßennetz. Das gesamte Land verfügt nur über etwa 10.000 km an asphaltierten sowie rund 7.100 km nicht asphaltierten Straßen (Stand 2007).[47] Die wichtigste Ost-West-Verbindung ist zugleich Teil des Asian Highway 2; die einzige Straßenverbindung nach China ist der Araniko Highway, der von Kathmandu bis zur Sino-Nepal Freundschaftsbrücke führt. Wichtigstes Fortbewegungsmittel sind die eigenen Füße. Ein riesiges Netz an Wegen durchzieht das Land. Flüsse und Schluchten werden auf Hängebrücken überquert. Der Transport von Gütern erfolgt auch heute noch überwiegend durch Träger, die auf schmalen Saumpfaden oft hohe Pässe überwinden.

Quelle: Zusammenfassung des Artikel aus Wikipedia

Kommentare sind geschlossen